Dangerous Beauty by Pandemonaeon

Share this:

Gothic. Tribal. Folk. Metal. Metal that grows leaves, flowers and thorns and forms a sonic hedge you find yourself suddenly caught within, pushed through to the other side of, in a landscape where disparate elements come together to form a running creature of sound to carry you.  Not quite safe, something dangerous like the Wild Hunt.  Influenced by Tribal culture and Myth,Dangerous Beauty by Panamonaeon after a long hiatus, Pandemonaeon returns to the public eye with the fires of inspiration burning strong in their third recording, “Dangerous Beauty.”

If you’ve never heard of Pandemoneaon, here’s what they say on their website:  “Founded by a guitarist (Winter) with a penchant for unusual chords and a vocalist enchanted by Celtic melancholy (Sharon Knight), Pandemonaeon creates soundscapes both modern and timeless by combining Middle-Eastern, Scandinavian, and Celtic folk influences with modern rock stylings. At times haunting and stark, at times driving and passionate, the result is deeply evocative. Like the dark underworld of Faery that influences them, you can almost sense that beneath the seductive beauty of their music is a fearsome witch come to slay you with poisoned tongue.”

Okay, maybe that’s a bit dramatic.  You might think they take themselves pretty seriously – well, there’s some serious multi-layered things going on with the music, with the lyrics and the structure of the music.   You could call it Pagan Rock—most songs are written by Sharon Knight and Winter—but a couple of tracks show their influences as they compose for lyrics by Aleister Crowley and Victor Anderson.

More simply put, as one music fan describes them, Pandemonaeon is “music for bellydancers in combat boots.”

Dangerous Beauty Tracks:

1. Eater of Sorrow
2. Lover’s Pardon
3. Fierce Black Soul of Night
4. Hunter
5. Heart Girt With A Serpent
6. Dangerous Beauty
7. The Tower
8. Queen of Shadows
9. The Goat Is On The Pole
10. Song of Mari
11. Chalice & Blades
12. Arrak
13. Well of Lost Voices

All songs written by Sharon Knight & Winter. Lyrics on track 5 by Aleister Crowley. Lyrics on track 10 by Victor Anderson. Track 9 written by Winter.

Pandemonaeon’s music has been featured in 2 independent films. They have been courted by Warner Bros. Records, co-founded El Mundo Bueno Studios, and performed at Faerieworlds, Oregon Country Faire, Health and Harmony Festival, Sebastopol Celtic Festival, the Great American Music Hall, Slim’s, and the Mystic Theater, to name just a few.

Pandemonaeon is:

Sharon Knight: lead & harmony vocals, acoustic guitar, mandola, percussion, keyboard
Winter: acoustic & electric guitars, percussion, harmony vocals
Tim Rayborn: harmony vocals, oud, saz, suling, dumbek, riqq
Gari Hegedus: violin, mandocello, tarhu
Caith Threefires: bass
Tina “Bean” Blaine: dumbek, djembe, percussion
Mark Abbott: drums

Buy Dangerous Beauty CD

%d bloggers like this: